Feed aggregator

The K7RA Solar Update

ARRL - Fri, 09/27/2019 - 9:24am

Sorry, still no sunspots. Spaceweather.com reported on September 26 there were no sunspots for over 3 weeks, or 24 consecutive days.

Summer transitioned through the autumnal equinox last Monday, and spaceweather.com noted that during the northern summer more than 89% of the days were spotless.

So far in 2019 the spotless days percentage is 72%, equal to what it was in the last solar minimum, in 2...

Categories: ARRL

WWV Centennial Celebration and Special Event Kick Off this Weekend

ARRL - Thu, 09/26/2019 - 5:33pm

The culmination of months of planning will come to a head this weekend as the WWV Centennial Celebration and the related WW0WWV Amateur Radio special event get under way. WW0WWV will begin operation on Saturday at 0000 UTC and continue through October 2 at 0000 UTC. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the Northern Colorado Amateur Radio Club (NCARC), and the WWV Amateur R...

Categories: ARRL

IARU Region 2 Emergency Communications Workshop Set

ARRL - Thu, 09/26/2019 - 12:20pm

An emergency communications workshop will be held on October 3 in Lima, Peru, following the 20th International Amateur Radio Union Region 2 (IARU R2) General Assembly, to exchange information and increase the response capability of IARU Region 2 member-societies.

Topics will include Amateur Radio’s response to the Chiapas and Mexico City earthquakes, the Fuego volcanic eruption, and use of the M...

Categories: ARRL

The Doctor Will See You Now!

ARRL - Thu, 09/26/2019 - 8:00am
Categories: ARRL

ARRL Sets Facebook Live Event for Collegiate Amateur Radio Clubs

ARRL - Wed, 09/25/2019 - 1:36pm

ARRL is inviting campus radio clubs to join a Facebook Live Event on Wednesday, October 16, at 6:30 PM PDT and MST; 7:30 PM MDT; 8:30 PM CDT, or 9:30 PM EDT. The University of Arizona Amateur Radio Club (K7UAZ) is hosting the event.

ARRL staff member Bob Inderbitzen, NQ1R, and students from the radio club will discuss topics involving Amateur Radio clubs at colleges and universities, including h...

Categories: ARRL

Orlando HamCation Accepting Nominations for Carole Perry Educator of the Year Award

ARRL - Wed, 09/25/2019 - 12:57pm

Orlando HamCation is accepting nominations for its Carole Perry Educator of the Year Award through November 1. This award goes to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution educating and advancing youth in Amateur Radio. The inaugural award in 2018 went to its namesake, Carole Perry, WB2MGP, in recognition of her work in teaching students about ham radio.

Submit nominations via email...

Categories: ARRL
Syndicate content (C01 _th3me_)